autodidact

Discuss word origins and meanings.

autodidact

Post by tony h » Thu Jun 01, 2017 9:12 am

Maybe I should have been able to find this out myself.

An autodidact is someone who is self taught. Ok so far. So if I decide to learn Swahili or fluid mechanics from books I can properly be described as an autodidact - although one does question who isn't to some degree as, surely, everyone must have learnt something on their own? Or is there a sense of scale of learning that allows one to be an autodidact?

This is my real question: is autodidactic learning only to do with current knowledge or can it also be for the invention of knowledge - or is that something different?
Post actions:
Signature: tony

With the right context almost anything can sound appropriate.

Re: autodidact

Post by Erik_Kowal » Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:41 pm

Most people I know (or know of) whom others have described as autodidacts have shared at least some of the following characteristics:

1) Most of them have either missed out on formal education (especially higher education), or else have pursued knowledge in fields having little connection with their formal education or training;
2) They have tended to be obsessive in their habits of reading and learning;
3) They have usually been men;
4) They have pursued their curiosity rather than a systematic programme of learning, so they may have known a great deal about one or more particular areas while having surprisingly little (or no) knowledge of many others.

Those are my observations, for what they're worth; make of them what you will. I would not consider any of them to be a defining characteristic of the type.

I would term an autodidact who is actively seeking out new knowledge an inventor, researcher or theoretician, depending on the precise type of investigation being undertaken.
Post actions:

Post by BonnieL » Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:55 am

My first brush with the word was the book The Day I Became an Autodidact by Kendall Hailey.