cattywampus

Discuss word origins and meanings.

cattywampus

Post by Debz » Fri May 19, 2006 11:50 pm

Hey! I'm still studying about the Ozark dialect. (by the way, I got the book by Vance Randolph. Thanks.)
A wampus-cat is a type of wild cat.
Now, the meaning of the "word" cattywampus, is backward, or haphazard.
Example:"The shed was put together sort of cattywampus-like."

Could the "word" cattywampus be a clever little word that someone made up by saying wampus-cat backward?

I know this has no bearing on reality, but I still think it's interesting.

Here's another "word" I don't feel comfortabe writing that is quite common. "Back-***ward" is obviously, ***-backward, spoken backward. Ahem... Donkey.

No redundancy intended. ;>)

I know this probably can't be found in any references, just wanting everyone's opinion. Such a witty, knowledgeable group, you know.
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS

cattywampus

Post by gdwdwrkr » Sat May 20, 2006 12:04 am

Then there's bass ackwards
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS

cattywampus

Post by Erik_Kowal » Sat May 20, 2006 5:36 am

ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS
Signature: -- Looking up a word? Try OneLook's metadictionary (--> definitions) and reverse dictionary (--> terms based on your definitions)8-- Contribute favourite diary entries, quotations and more here8 -- Find new postings easily with Active Topics8-- Want to research a word? Get essential tips from experienced researcher Ken Greenwald

cattywampus

Post by gdwdwrkr » Sat May 20, 2006 2:58 pm

from
http://www.pbs.org/speak/words/trackthatword/ttw/?i=702
wampus-cat :An imaginary critter loggers attribute night sounds to.

I'm betting these critters make cat roads.
They intersect at kitty-corners, catty-cornered to each other.
ACCESS_POST_ACTIONS

cattywampus

Post by Ken Greenwald » Sun May 21, 2006 6:00 am

Deborah, On the point:
<“Could the "word" cattywampus be a clever little word that someone made up by saying wampus-cat backward?”>