skiffle

Discuss word origins and meanings.

skiffle

Post by Shelley » Fri Aug 12, 2005 12:34 am

After finishing my third Beatle bio, I've become curious about the music style called "skiffle", which was what they were playing in Liverpool in the very beginning. Can any of you Britishers talk a little about skiffle? I don't find it in the slang resources on WW, but I haven't looked elsewhere.
Post actions:

skiffle

Post by Bobinwales » Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:19 pm

Also known as "The great skiffle disaster" it was a strange era. It started in the ‘50’s, and in it’s very basic form was American folk songs sung very loud and very fast. “Rock Island Line”, Tom Dooley”, “Battle of New Orleans” etc.

It was played mainly on acoustic guitars and an assortment of more weird stuff, washboards and tea chest basses. Actually, I was a bass guitarist in the ‘60’s, but my first effort on bass was a tea chest. You may have got the impression that it was a Liverpool thing, but the whole of the UK was infected.

Arguably leading exponent of the art, certainly the longest running, Lonnie Donnegan died last year, but I also remember Nancy Whisky with some affection. I must have been at least 14.
Post actions:
Signature: All those years gone to waist!
Bob in Wales

skiffle

Post by Shelley » Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:47 pm

Ah, those were the days, eh, bobinwales? Thanks for your info -- I must ask, though, what's a tea chest? How big is it? Is it special because it's airtight to keep the tea leaves dry? How did it work as a bass (guitar)?
Post actions:

skiffle

Post by Phil White » Sat Aug 13, 2005 11:06 am

Shelley,

I suppose US memories of tea chests died at Boston.