toerag

This formerly read-only archive of threads dates back to 1996, but as of March 2007 is open to new postings. For technical reasons, the early dates shown do not accurately reflect the actual date of posting.

Feel free to add new postings to any of the existing threads in the archived forums, but please create any new language-related threads in one of the Language Discussion Forums.

toerag

Post by Archived Topic » Thu Mar 11, 2004 4:51 am

Caroline UK
I am a teacher and thoughtlessly landed myself in it this week! Someone asked me the derivation of the word toerag and I replied that it came from the word Tuareg (nomad of the Sahara). I have no idea where I learned this, it just popped out! However, the pupils looked puzzled and asked that most dreaded of questions, Why? I couldn't answer! If anyone does know, please help me keep up my credibility, I'll be forever grateful!
Submitted by ( - )
Post actions:
Signature: Topic imported and archived

toerag

Post by Archived Reply » Thu Mar 11, 2004 5:05 am

Unfortunately you missed the mark entirely. The definition is as follows:

toerag noun [C] BRITISH SLANG
an extremely unpleasant person
The man's an absolute toerag, really!
Look what you've done to my book, you toerag. [as form of address]

( Cambridge International Dictionary of English )

The Taureg are indeed nomads of the Sahara, but have nothing to do with "toerags,.

Reply from Charles Becker (Murray KY - U.S.A.)
Post actions:
Signature: Reply imported and archived

toerag

Post by Archived Reply » Thu Mar 11, 2004 5:20 am

In earlier times, when extreme poverty in the countries of Europe was much more prevalent than it is now, those who could not afford shoes either went barefoot or improvised footwear out of rags. To the best of my knowledge, this is the origin of the term; by extension, nowadays a toerag is a human being with the same level of appeal as this mean and unattractive form of footwear.